Smoothies: Beginner’s Luck

Ladybean73 of Adrift in Crafts has been doing a lot of green smoothies and poor Liisa has been doing a lot of juicing and smoothies. And green smoothies seem to be all the rage right now. So, through some sort of weird internet osmosis, green smoothies sounded like a good idea one day.  I’m not sure what possessed me to do it, but I finally took the leap and blended up spinach.

And it wasn’t terrible.

It was actually kind of good.

And Rex loved it.

wpid-img_20140908_151511.jpg

I started with the Beginner’s Luck Green Smoothie off of Simple Green Smoothies.  It is easy and tasty.  I followed the instructions to a T, even blending the spinach and water up first for better texture.  I used frozen mango and pineapple, because that’s what I had on hand.  It came together quickly and hit the spot.

And did I mention that Rex loves this smoothie? Yep. It is toddler approved!  He actually makes this smoothie with me. I wish I had a picture, but I didn’t think to take one. He stands on his chair at the counter, putting in the mangoes and pineapple, one piece at a time. He takes a while, but when he’s finished, he looks to me and says, “Boop dis!” and points to the blender. He loves to push the button and especially enjoys the finished product. These smoothies have been serving as a stop-gap between quiet time and dinner time. They give my little man enough to keep going without ruining his dinner. Often he cries for more when his cup is empty.

Seriously, if you’re thinking of braving that first green smoothie, this is the one to try.

Leave a Reply

