Mint Simple Syrup

To my surprise, the mint plant that died a horrible death last year, came back with a vengeance earlier this spring. I need to move it to a bigger container as it is straining at the seams. While we were picking basil yesterday, we also gathered enough mint to make mint simple syrup.  I used this recipe from The Hungry Mouse and it was very simple, if you’ll forgive the pun.

2014-07-14 17.25.16

I gave my mint leaves a quick rinse and spun them out in the salad spinner.  Then, I followed the steps in the recipe. The only change I made was to heat the water to boiling in my electric kettle and then whisk it with the sugar until dissolved. The syrup sat and cooled while we had dinner and then I strained it into a pint sized mason jar.

2014-07-14 19.03.24

As you can see, there’s still a few little bits floating around.  A second straining through some cheesecloth would fix that, but I’m not sure I care enough to go to the trouble.  Mint is not my favorite flavor, but I’m hoping this syrup will go well in mixed drinks and lemonade.  So tell me, what would you use it for?

 

2 thoughts on “Mint Simple Syrup

  1. I used to have a garden, but our current place doesn’t have room or the right sunlight. I’m so jealous. 😉 Mint simple syrup goes well in iced tea and, of course, mint mojitos…yummy. 🙂

    • Because mint is so invasive, I’m growing it in a container. Mint, basil, and other herbs do very well if containers. So if you have a small sunny corner somewhere, give it a go!

Leave a Reply

