Rex’s Baby

One gift that I made sure happened for Rex’s second birthday was a baby of his own.  Lately, he’s been showing an interest in dolls and I wanted to encourage that.  I used the pattern from Growing Up Sew Liberated for the Little Amigo Doll and purchased the materials locally at a store called Gossamer. The clothes were modified from the original patterns in the book.

2014-06-01 14.01.24

So far, baby leads an exciting life.  He gives fist bumps, rides in the shopping cart, and enjoys hugs and kisses.  He even plays the guitar!

2014-06-01 14.29.57

This project was way outside my comfort zone for sewing and crafting. Rex’s baby involved a lot of hand sewing and subjective creativity. I took out the eyes and redid them at least three times per side. His neck was redone twice, and I struggled for days with the arms.  In the end, I’m very pleased with how he turned out. His hair is made from a combination of two yarns (Malabrigo Worsted and Berroco Ultra Alpaca) and was attached using this method, except I crocheted a chain instead of making a braid. I’m really glad I went to the extra work of that method, as baby is often transported by his hair.  Rex loves his baby and I’m so proud of myself for sticking with it and finishing him on time.

Leave a Reply

