Hat Parade: Green Baby Bonnet

Today’s hat is really more of a bonnet.  I saw this adorable thing come through my Reader recently and just had to make one. Unfortunately, my plastic container stand-in doesn’t do this piece justice.

Wanting this to be closer to infant size, I dropped the yarn and needle sizes down.  I used Classic Elite Yarns Chesapeake in color #5981 “Tendril Green”.  I picked up this yarn at Knits by Nana when I was in Louisiana visiting a friend.  (The shop is lovely and the staff is friendly.  If you’re ever in Baton Rouge, I highly recommend a visit.)

The construction on this was definitely interesting, but not hard.  The applied i-cord was done with a technique different from the one I’ve used before, but it seemed to work out just fine.  I’d estimate my hat came out more of a 6-9 month size, but I’ll have to try it on a baby of that age to be sure.

All notes and mods can be found here.

Leave a Reply

