Agave Nectar Cookies

Agave nectar is a great sugar substitute.  It’s low on the glycemic index and made from the same plant that gives us tequila.  When I was doing a weird nutritionist-prescribed allergy diet, I became really good friends with this golden sweetener.  During that time, I purchased the Baking with Agave Nectar cookbook.  (Sadly, I haven’t used it as much as I should.)  Last week, I took advantage of its handy location on the shelf and made Oatmeal Raisin cookies.  I followed the recipe pretty closely, only modifying it by adding coconut (I was low on raisins).

Anyway… let me get off my sweetener substitution soapbox and show you the cookies already.

Aren’t they pretty?  They were a little bit stickier than normal cookies and they don’t bake after freezing quite as well, but the taste makes up for those shortcomings.  Plus, you can pretend they’re “healthy” because they are made with whole wheat flour.  Woot!

Leave a Reply

