Homemade Dressing

I love my slow cooker.  I threw a roast into it one afternoon with some seasoning packet I found in the cupboard, set it on high, and ignored it.  In the meantime, I knit, I baked cookies (more on those later), and watched Futurama.  I also let the dog in and out about 3 dozen times.  (Have you noticed how dogs can hold it all day during the week, but on the weekend they have 5 minute bladders?)  About an hour before dinner was done, I chopped an onion and added that along with some dried mushrooms to the crockpot.

I was originally going to serve broiled asparagus with it, but hubby requested fresh green salad instead.  Only problem… We had no dressing.  (Well, I guess that’s not really a problem because I haven’t bought dressing in a very long time.)  Lately, I’ve been experimenting with different recipes online instead of using pre-prepped salad topping.  This was no exception.  Thanks to the Pioneer Woman, I found an easy-ish recipe for ranch dressing.  My heavily modified version is below.  I only had a few ingredients she called for on hand and had to improvise.  The result?  Amazingly delicious.  Give it a try and figure out why you’ll never go back to store bought dressing…

Homemade Ranch-Ish Dressing

Ingredients

  • 2 Cloves Garlic (or less if you’re sensitive)
  • Pinch of kosher salt (to taste)
  • 2 Tablespoons dried Parsley
  • 2 Tablespoons chopped green onions
  • 1 cup (Real) Mayonnaise
  • 1 cup Sour Cream
  • 2% Milk (as needed for desired consistency)
  • 1 Tablespoon Pampered Chef All Purpose Dill Mix
  • 2 Teaspoons smoked Paprika
  • 1 Tablespoon dried Oregano

Directions

Mince the garlic with a knife and then sprinkle about an 1/8 to ¼ teaspoons of salt on it and mash it into a paste with a fork. Dice the green onions

In a bowl combine all ingredients, tasting frequently and adjusting seasonings as needed. Chill for at least 30 minutes before serving (more is better).

Leave a Reply

