Kaitlyn’s Bag

I’ve had such good blogging intentions lately and then been side tracked.  I’ll do my best to get back to an almost every day schedule.

There is a very special little girl who comes to the yarn shop with her mother.  I believe she just turned 11.  Her mother has been looking for the perfect knitting bag for her.  I had one I had made that didn’t turn out quite like I wanted, but I was carrying it anyway.  Well, as luck would have it, it was almost exactly what she wanted.  So Kaitlyn picked out her fabric and she got her knitting bag.

The bag is a modified version of this one from BHG.  I made it a bit taller and wider to better accommodate magazines and knitting projects.  The handles are longer and I used fusible fleece instead of batting.  I also boxed the corners a bit deeper to compensate for the larger dimensions.

Inside, there is an added pocket for storage.

There was a bit of fabric leftover, so I whipped up a little coordinating zippered pouch.  Since this was commissioned a couple days before her birthday, I threw in a knitting book from my library that I thought she would like.

I came to find out later that several other ladies at the shop bought her goodies, so when she picked up her bag it was overflowing with birthday treasures.  I have it on good authority that she loves her new knitting bag.

One thought on “Kaitlyn’s Bag

  1. Pingback: Nell’s Bag « yarngeek

Leave a Reply

