Oatmeal Crackle Cookies

Sometime last week (or was it over the weekend?) I found this recipe from Laundry on the Line.  And boy did those cookies reach out and grab me.  I’ve been thinking about them for several days.  So tonight I put on my apron and whipped up a batch.  Only… Me, being me, I had to modify the recipe.  (I just can’t help myself!) But this time the results were decidedly delicious!

So, without further ado, I give you my version of the recipe.

Oatmeal Crackle Cookies

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup rolled oats (not quick cooking)
  • 1 cup unsweetened, flaked coconut
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Cream the butter and brown sugar together.  Add the egg and vanilla and mix.  In another bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, salt, oats, and coconut.  While stirring slowly (I used a stand mixer on low speed) add the flour mixture into the butter mixture until all ingredients are fully integrated.

Scoop onto a cookie sheet and press flat (I used the smallest Pampered Chef scoop to make my cookies uniform).  Bake 6 – 8 minutes or until the edges are golden brown.  Remove immediately from cookie sheet to cooling rack.

One thought on “Oatmeal Crackle Cookies

  1. Oooh these sound good. Finally a decent oatmeal cookie recipe that doesn’t have raisins.. Boy Beanlet doesn’t like them. I wonder though, if I can omit the coconut; not a fan of that myself, and not sure where I’d find unsweetened anyway… There goes my diet. lol

Leave a Reply

