More from the Garden

This post is for Liisa.  A little “what’s up” from my garden…

I put my lettuce and broccoli outside around the 21st.  The lettuces are doing ok (they look a little sad, but I’m hoping they’ll get better with some extra TLC).  Unfortunately I think something has eaten my broccoli.  I have two very sad looking plants left. Sigh…  On the upside, the peas (I think those are peas.. where are my notes?) and green onions seem to be doing well.

On the upside, despite the ferocious digging it received from my sister’s dog, the square foot bed is still moving along.  The radishes have sprouted and look like they’re doing good!  (I also have two lonely little pea (or edamame..?) sprouts that need to be moved.  The rest did not sprout thanks to the digging dog…)

So there you go, Liisa.  Shots of the sprouts in my garden as of a few days ago.  (And don’t worry, Dad is going to help me build a cover for the square foot bed to keep Apollo out of it.)

2 thoughts on “More from the Garden

  1. “I think those are peas” yes, they are. 😉

    “The lettuces are doing ok (they look a little sad, but I’m hoping they’ll get better with some extra TLC)” water, water, water, water, water (you get the idea) If you think they’re freezing overnight, cut the bottom off some plastic milk jugs and cover them up at night. Leave the cap on and remember to take the cloches off in the AM.

    “I also have two lonely little pea (or edamame..?)” Edamame doesn’t get planted till May, so if these are edamame, they prolly won’t make it.

    “Unfortunately I think something has eaten my broccoli.” I had the same problem. The cloches at night stop this from happening also. Plus, the overnight freezing temps we’re getting stop invaders.

    “So there you go, Liisa” — your radish sprouts look fantastic! If you baby the lettuce, it’ll come right back. Also, I can’t remember if you’re growing leaf lettuce or not, but you can do a whole row of that right now. 3′ long shallow trench, dump in a whole envelope of seeds, enjoy lettuce for months. 🙂

Leave a Reply

