A Smocking Revelation

My darling nephew Tyler (whom you see quite often on the blog) loves to play in the sink with his toys.  He has been wearing the apron he received for Christmas.  Unfortunately, cotton tends to absorb water, rather than repel it.  So a water smock was requested!

Water smock, front.

Sonja gave me a piece of water resistant nylon she had leftover from a coat.  It’s hard to tell from the picture, but it’s a purple-ish blue color.  I use this tutorial, but left off the ruffles and pocket.

Water smock, back.

The binding and ribbon I already had in the stash boxes.  So this little smock didn’t cost me a penny.  I’m hoping it is as water resistant as advertised.  Otherwise, I’ll be adding a layer of clear vinyl to the front.

Water smock, tie detail.

This smock works up quickly and only took about an hour or so on Sunday morning.  Overall, I’m quite pleased with how it turned out.  It fits Tyler perfectly.  Now how about some action shots?

Poop Pickup Patrol

Scoopin’ Poop

(Yes, they could be better action shots.  But he wanted to scoop the poop.  So why stop him?)

Leave a Reply

