Orange You Glad to See Me?

So, apparently “rainy Wednesday in January” translates into “let’s make orange marmalade!” in my mind.  Because today, nothing would have it but to buy the canning supplies I was missing.  (Did I mention I inherited a water bath canner and pressure cooker on New Years?  My mommy loves me!)  Anyway, after some delicious Thai food (Mmm… Pad Thai…), it was time to hit the stove!  My darling hubby sliced and diced the oranges while I zested and juiced the lemon.  We used this recipe courtesy of his royal highness, Alton Brown (all hail the king!).

It is important to note that this is my first canning adventure.  Note the beautiful color of the oranges cooking.  (Although they did not smell beautiful…)

See how big my canning pot is (right) compared to my normal 8 quart spaghetti pot (left)?  It’s ginormous!

The recipe calls for 3lbs, 12oz of sugar.  That’s nearly 8 cups!  It took two of us to add the sugar.  One to pour and one to stir.  Nearly 4lbs of sugar is just too much to pour in a controlled manner with only one hand.  I’m not sure if this marmalade will set up properly, but after cooking it nearly 40 minutes, we decided to just go with it.

And that, kiddies, is just one jars of seven 8oz jars and two 16oz jars.  I do hope it sets up, or we’ll have a whole lot of ice cream toppings on our hands…

Of course, Chloe helped out by giving me a ball to kick while I waited for things to boil and go “Ping!”.


One thought on “Orange You Glad to See Me?

Leave a Reply

