Homemade Granola

Normally I am not a person who likes granola.  I’ve always found it dry and not very tasty.  Of course, I’d only ever consumed store bought granola.  Folks, I am here to tell you that homemade granola is an entirely different experience!

If you like granola, then you should never, ever buy granola again.  This took under 30 minutes to make and is amazingly delicious.  I used this recipe from Half Assed Kitchen.

My only modifications to the recipe were to use a half cup of pecans and a half cup of walnuts instead of the almonds and I added about a tablespoon and a half of ground flax seed instead of whole flaxseed.  I used honey (locust flower from North Carolina!) as my sweetener.  I ended up with a quart jar and a pint jar full as well as about a half cup leftover that I mixed and ate with yogurt.  The best thing about this granola?  It makes the house smell like cookies while it bakes! (And it’s made with ingredients that are already on hand and costs a fraction of the price of store bought granola.  But the cookie smell thing is way more important.)

3 thoughts on “Homemade Granola

  1. YEY! We make ours too! When I first met Shanti, my mother-in-law gave me her granola recipe from the 70s (it’s groovy, like her 🙂 ).

    Shanti eats it like a snack, so we never have any sitting around. But the best part of granola is that you can freeze it almost indefinitely.

    Yey! This posting gets 3 thumbs up!

Leave a Reply

