Menu Plan Monday: Christmas Week

It’s Monday again and that means time for the weekly menu (Yay for Menu Plan Monday!). With Christmas looming in four days (!!!), it’s going to be an interesting few days.  I also have holiday goodie making to do.  I’m planning to do most of my baking after Christmas and deliver Happy New Year’s goodies instead.  I won’t be seeing most people until after Christmas anyway and this way they’re fresher and less stressful.  Total cop out or brilliance?  You decide.

Monday: Going out for dinner.  We need to grocery shop today and I have a doctor’s appointment.  That all adds up to *crazy*.  Too much to think about dealing with dinner too.  I’m thinkin’ sushi is in order before they close for the holidays.

Tuesday: Chicken Curry with rice.  (Have I ever posted the recipe for this?  It’s one of our standby meals that works up in about 20 minutes.  Less if you use some of the shortcuts…)

Wednesday: Grilled cheese sandwiches.  With all the prep for Thursday and Friday and the impending huge meals, something light is just the ticket.  I also need to bake oatmeal raisin cookies today for delivery to Grandma on Christmas eve when we have lunch.

Thursday: Christmas Eve dinner with my husband’s family.  We’re having ham, scalloped potatoes, steamed veggies, homemade rolls, and pie.  Yum!

Friday: Merry Christmas!  We will be visiting my sister for Christmas brunch.  That means dinner will be leftovers from Thursday.

Saturday: Corn Chowder.  Soup will definitely be in order after all the stomach-upsetting sweets we’ll be having.

Sunday: Leftovers, corn chowder, grilled cheese… It’ll be another dealer’s choice night in our household.

Sometime this week: Baking/goodie making will occur on Saturday and Sunday most likely.  I have plans for several varieties of cookies (read: as many as I feel like making at the time) as well as other goodies.  I’m changing it up a bit this year and I’m going to do frozen, unbaked cookies for a few people and jar mixes for others, besides fresh baked cookies.  One of my friends just had her fourth child two months ago.  I figure with all the bustle going on and the goodies I know they’ll receive from other people, ready to bake frozen cookie dough would be much more useful.  I am also planning a few new goodies this year like peppermint patties, homemade vanilla extract, and maybe that Irish cream I posted about earlier…

One thought on “Menu Plan Monday: Christmas Week

  1. Don’t you just love those days of jammed pack activities?! Yikes!

    You have a delicious menu planned!
    I’m so glad that my husband isn’t working on Christmas Eve and Christmas. He really needs the days off.
    Here’s wishing you and yours a Merry Christmas!

    ps Please feel free to stop by my blog and leave a comment regarding “Do you still read the newspaper”?

Leave a Reply

