Pondering

Recently I’ve been thinking a lot about getting back to my roots.  There’s been a lot of family history surfacing lately.  This, combined with other things has me really contemplating my lifestyle.  With the economy in the shape it is, I have been pondering things more and more.  Why do we buy so much?  Can I make it myself?  Do I really need it?  That line of thinking always leads me to…

We are so wasteful.  It is shameful how much we waste.  But what can we do about it?  We’re busy and such.  Well, here are a few things I’m thinking of implementing now and in the future.

Plastic Bags

Bags are my biggest downfall.  I have tons of reusable shopping bags and the great veggie bags from Liisa.  But do I remember to bring them with me?  Rarely.  (This makes me smile at the irony of making reusable bags for the company holiday bazaar.  A tutorial on those is coming soon!)

I will do my best to remember my bags and to shop in an eco-friendly manner.

Cleaning

I admit that cleaning is not one of my strong points… (Stop laughing, you’re going to hurt yourself!)  After being inspired by the book Clean House, Clean Planet (again, thank you Liisa), I’ve had the urge to make my own cleaning products.  But life and work has gotten in the way.  I have made the switch to more eco-friendly brands like Method, but the cost definitely adds up.  I really want to make my own cold-pressed soap and other cleaners.  I think that all the harsh commercial cleaning products may clean faster, but the damage they’re doing is long term.

I will try to make at least some of my own cleaning products and rely less on commercially available products.

Paper

Ah, paper.  It’s so abundant we rarely think about where it comes from.  I’ve already gone paperless with most of my bills and I recycle my junk mail.  But I think paper towels are one of the biggest offenders in our household.

I will make my own cloth napkins and use kitchen towels and rags whenever possible.

Food

Food is definitely a downfall.  I like food (who doesn’t?), but sometimes the foods we eat don’t like us.  Since starting the allergy elimination diet, I’ve found out a few things.

  1. Sugar is not good for you.  I’ve lost weight simply by not eating any sugar or artificial sweeteners.
  2. High Fructose Corn Syrup is a toxin.  Watch this if you haven’t already.
  3. Food you make yourself tastes better.
  4. The process of cooking makes the food more enjoyable
  5. When you make it yourself, you know exactly what went into it.

I will try to eat healthier and cook more.  I will try to purchase locally, organically, and seasonally when possible.  It’s not a treat if you have it all the time.

And…?

And there’s always more.  But I think I’ve done enough ranting for one post.  I have a couple of books coming that I’m excited to share, but you’ll just have to wait to find out what they are.



One thought on “Pondering

  1. **sniff** My little girl’s all grown up and thinkin’ with her green brain!

    It’s so eerie that you made this post today, because I was just thinking of asking you whether or not those veggie bags held up over time. I just wash and re-use the plastic produce bags I originally got at the store 3 years ago. They’re starting to look pretty odd — even plastic doesn’t last forever!

    Pick a time — ANY TIME — and I will help you pre-make any of the recipes in Clean House, Clean Planet. Then they’re ready for you whenever you want. If you keep Dr. Bronners, Baking Soda and Vinegar in the house, you have the ingredients for 99% of her recipes. Seriously, let me know, and I’ll help.

    BESIDES, I haven’t seen you in FOREVER!!!!!! I feel totally ditched — you know, I have awesome organizational skills and could have been very useful in the Craft Room Extravaganza. 🙂 (And then Shanti and Sam can geek out together)

Leave a Reply

