Purging

Yesterday was supposed to be a nice relaxing day.  But then something happened.  I found myself tearing through the craft room, purging items without remorse or a second thought.  Piles of stuff went into the truck to go to the Goodwill as well as lots of stuff into the garbage.  (My husband was also purging in his office.  Nearly a dozen old computers went bye-bye!)  Among the purged items were two very difficult ones.  The first is this.

That, my friends, is a very deformed sweater that I made several years ago.  I finished it around 2am and wove in my ends so well, that when I awoke to find how truly deformed the sleeves were… I couldn’t find my ends to take it out.  I’m finally letting go.  It went into the garbage pile, followed shortly by my bag of orphan socks that I’ve been carting around since high school, convinced as soon as I throw them out, I’ll find the mate.  Well, no more!  I’m sick of this pack rat lifestyle.  I want SPACE!  And so, the great craft room endeavor has begun.

This is the beginning (how much I was able to accomplish last night).  It’s not much, but it’s a start.  (I won’t show you the rest of the room.)  My efforts were paused while my husband’s birthday present arrived.  This desk from Ikea (plus an extension on the short side).  After nearly two hours of construction, it was together and in his office.  That thing is huge.  I mean huge. We have to work on the arrangement so Sam doesn’t have to crawl in and out of his office underneath the desk.

And this is Chloe’s version of helping.  Holding the floor down is hard work, but someone has to do it.

3 thoughts on “Purging

  1. Wondering why you didn’t simply frog the sweater and re-use the yarn. Even if you couldn’t find the perfect end, you could snip a few rows and then start?

    Just wondering.

  2. The yarn was dead to me. It wasn’t that expensive and I just needed that sweater out of my life. I don’t usually throw away a whole sweaters worth of yarn.

Leave a Reply

