Bread!

Well, it’s sort of bread..  It’s gluten-free, egg-free, dairy-free, sugar-free bread (try saying that five times fast).  It’s from this fantastic recipe on Gluten Free Goddess.

It didn’t rise very well, but I’m not sure if that’s due to a chilly house or needing more egg replacer.  I’ll just have to make more and find out.  In the meantime, it’s back in the oven.  (Again, due to not rising well.)  But the end I sliced off to test was delicious.

(Yes, it’s only day three of the Elimination Diet and I’m already trolling the internet for gluten-free, egg-free, dairy-free, soy-free, everything-free recipes.  Don’t judge until you’ve given up caffeine *and* bread *and* pretty much everything else that’s delicious.  Except sushi.  I can still have that.  Phew!)

2 thoughts on “Bread!

  1. Short story about me (that has some relevance)… sugar and dairy give me migraines, and I’m one of those people who expand with carbs (of course I love all those things). So, one year I gave up dairy, sugar, and anything made with flour. That first week was the worst week of Shanti’s life (poor guy), but after that, I got used to it. I tell you, I got sick of granny smith apples with peanut butter, but for 9 months I didn’t have a migraine. At the time, I definitely think the trade-off was worth it, but it was hard work. I also lost 20 pounds, but I also pretty much ate nothing but veggies, rice cakes, granny smiths and peanut butter.

    Hmmm, maybe I should go that route again.

    Anyways, my point is that it can be done, and I commend you highly on your achievements. It’s all about the rice flour and egg-replacer — you can make some great cookies that way. Also, the Grains Beans N Things has recipes for gluten-free beer… I’m just saying!

  2. Gluten-free beer you say? Too bad alcohol is also off the list (and peanut butter for that matter). I’m making do and Sam is very understanding. I think I’ve made it through some of the worst this week, but we’ll see how the weekend goes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

