Is Less Really More?

Sam recently helped me put together the new hutch that I bought in February for my craft books.  It’s a nice flat-pack piece of furniture (and only had 1 missing part).

3348596206_33dd9ec760

I started moving my craft books into it from the living room bookshelf and something occurred to me.  I don’t *need* all of these books.  Some of them I’d forgotten I had.  Some I barely looked at when they were new.  So, why do I keep them?  Why am I so afraid of letting them go?  I think there’s something in my personality that makes me afraid to get rid of things…

I have this deep fear that I’m going to need something and not have it.  But, could the real danger be that I’ll buy so much that I don’t  need, that when I really do need something, I won’t have the money to get it?  What is it about me that makes me hoard compulsively?  I’m unhappy in clutter, but I can’t seem to let it go.

Even though it makes me feel sick to my stomach at the prospect of getting rid of stuff, I know this has got to stop.  I’m working with my lys owner to integrate my older magazines into a reference library for everyone to enjoy.  I’m going to separate with some of my books.  I know some will go to friends, some I may list for sale online, and some may go to the reference library.  The fact is, I don’t need them in my house.  I need to be able to see my floor, work in my craft room, and be able to walk across the room in the dark at night without breaking my foot.  There are only two of us in this house, it should not be this cluttered.

On a more positive note, I did find a fun little gem while moving my books.  Thisbook is staying with me because it’s always good for a smile and a laugh.

3348565198_b77b34c941

You know, the crocheted grandfather clock wall hanging is actually pretty neat.  I wonder how it would look in our house…

4 thoughts on “Is Less Really More?

  1. We are grandchildren of Depression survivors. People kept everything after that, and it has been passed down to us. You do start feeling like you’re going to hyperventilate while de-cluttering at first, but it actually starts to become easier, trust me. Especially after you start living in your more open, easier to care for space. I’m here to help you if you ever want it! 🙂

  2. Chelsea Chelsea Chelsea. . . . . hmmm. . . I have to say I have the same problem as you on this one. I have old magazines from who knows when. I also have old video games that I know I’m never going to play, but I keep them around anyways “just in case”. Anyways, I know how you feel about this. That’s all I had to say. 🙂
    Jason

  3. @heather: Our consumer-driven economy simply exacerbates the problem of that great depression hoarder tendency. People back then made things from scraps of stuff, and that’s how they liked it. At some point there was a social stigma attached to things like wearing your own clothes, no doubt egged on by sellers of the cheap crap that now fills our lives.

    It’s encouraging to see ‘maker’ subculture going more mainstream, though. We may need it soon.

    Check this link out too: http://www.youtube.com/user/DepressionCooking

Leave a Reply

