Resolutions

There’s been a lot of talk in Blog Land lately about Resolutions.  Many people are setting themselves up with a good list and copping to it publicly.  Some people aren’t making any at all, content with their lives.  I’m still torn on mine.  So, rather than make resolutions, I’m going to make up for regrets.  2009 is the year to make up for 2008.  I’m not sure where the last year went, but I didn’t get nearly what I wanted done.  So, in no particular order, things I wanted to do in 2008, but never had enough time.

  • Walk Chloe more.  She and I both need the exercise.  When Jesse lived with us, we used to walk nearly every night.  That’s one thing I miss about having him around.
  • Actually learn to play my violin.  I have about 3 books for it now and all I can play still is Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star, and a Hoe Down.
  • Spin more than a couple times a year.  I have two boxes of beautiful fiber, but am seriously neglectful of my wheel.  Now that I have two more bobbins (5 total), I have no excuse.  I’m setting a preliminary, tentative goal of spinning at least once a month.
  • Finish the projects that are hanging over my head.  I have at least 3 commissioned pieces that I should have already finished.  I need to finish them and not take on anymore.  I don’t need the guilt and stress.
  • Organize my craft room into a working space instead of a junk heap. This is definitely a BIG project.  It will likely take many years of training and lots of money to add the storage I need.  But it’s something to strive towards.
  • Do those yarn projects that I wanted to do, but put off in favor of other projects. What I mean by that is those projects that were not for someone or something needed right away.  These are those projects that are challenging, skill-building, or generally selfish.
  • Attempt to corral the chaos in which I live. Basically, I’d like to attempt to be better at my housekeeping.  Just keeping up on laundry, dishes, and basic cleaning would be nice.  Working a full time job, I’m just so tired when I get home that I don’t want to do anything unpleasant.  I’d like to add just one thing to my routine every month to help keep the house a little neater.
  • Visit my sewing machine more often. This kind of ties in with the spinning one above.  I have a large stash of fabric and lots of patterns and books.  I still haven’t made the apron I’ve been wanting.  And what happened to learning to use my new Serger?
  • Appreciate what I have more. I have a great husband, wonderful pets, and a loving family.  I have enough clutter in my house without needing more.  I’m hoping to make 2009 a little less material-filled and a lot more love filled.

Well.  I certainly got a little wordy.  If you made it this far, you’ll be happy to know I’ve already starting working on the yarn aspect of the new year.  I’ve started the i-cord finger gloves from Handknitting by Meg Swansen.  Unfortunately, I didn’t check my gauge (big surprise) and I’m getting 6.5 stitches to the inch instead of the recommended 5 stitches to the inch.  It explains why the glove is looking soooo small.  So, tomorrow I get to rip it out and start over.  Oh well, I think I’ve got it figured out now, and boy is it neat!

I’m using Sublime Cashmere Merino Silk Aran in “Granite”.  Ravelry details can be found here.

3158130903_0c1ec08bdd_m

Leave a Reply

