The One Without a Title

Yesterday, my department represented for International Talk Like a Pirate Day (ARR!).  We showed up in bandanas and had little paper pirate hats with our pirate names printed on them along with a skull and crossbones.  The skull and crossbones themes was carried over onto signs that were hung on the outside of the cubes welcoming people to “Pirate Information Management”.  I don’t remember exactly what I said, but it was along the lines of “beware all ye who enter… for the catalog, she be a harsh mistress.”  There was also something about SKU builds being forfeit, but I forget the details.  Anyway, it was a general moral lifter for all of us.

And boy do we need it… I’m drinking a bit of coffee before I head off to work.  Yes, I am very aware that it is Saturday.  BizDev dragged their feet and put us 4 weeks behind on three catalogs.  Our press date is Monday and we were still receiving page turnovers yesterday.  Hence, my department (PIM), Creative, and Proofreading all have to give up their Saturday.  What are the BizDev guys doing?  Probably driving their expensive cars to the golf course. (But I’m not bitter or anything…)

I also am working at the shop tonight from 2:30 – 5:30.  So, if you’re in the neighborhood, come and knit with us.  The only downside to all this work is that I can’t get anything done at home.  My house is a disaster, I need to do dishes badly (we’re out of clean spoons), I need to do laundry and get things picked up, and I’d really like to hem those 3 pairs of brand new pants so I can wear them.  It’s just frustrating!  Every time I start to get the house together, something comes up and it becomes a dumping ground again.  I just can’t seem to win.  I know a big part of it is my fault (the yarn, the fabric, the books, etc.), but I just can’t do it all.  I wish I could afford a maid.  If the little things (like dishes) didn’t pile up so badly, it wouldn’t take so long to fix it.  I have to redo the same chores over and over and can’t seem to make any progress getting the rest of the house in order.

Sigh.  Ok, I’m done whining about that.  On to happier things!

On a happier note, I have mad substantial progress on the secret project (it just kills me that I can’t show pictures!!).  I have decided to add an extra repeat, so it is not as close to complete as it normally would be.  I have no fear of the deadline though, it’s moving along rather swiftly (watch, I say that and it will come back to bite me).

I’ve also cast on a plain jane pair of socks using the Yarn Harlot‘s basic sock recipe.  As well as this month’s Woolly Wormhead KAL hat, Strudel.  I’ve ripped Strudel out 3 times and have finally figured out why.  Apparently, in yarngeek land, 2+2=2, not 4.  Now that I know that, I’ve corrected my error and have successfully knit a few rows.  All the counts are coming up correctly, the eyelets are lining up correctly, and it doesn’t look wonky.  Perhaps I may actually finish this hat before the end of the month.  Isn’t that a novel idea?

2 thoughts on “The One Without a Title

  1. That be harsh that ye have to work today. Oh, get your car to me soon, I want to try out my new toy. 😉 AIR COMPRESSOR!!!!!

  2. Your words “I have to redo the same chores over and over and can’t seem to make any progress …” reminded me of a saying I heard some years ago.
    “Housework is like sex … it just won’t stay d.on.e.”

    Hope you get more of a chance to knit these days.
    Janey

Leave a Reply

