The Sweater with No Name

I may have found the answer to my sweater indecision.  (Or I may have just complicated the issue.)  On an evening trip to Barnes & Noble, I found this book in the clearance section for around $8.  It’s called 1000 Sweaters by Amanda Griffiths.

I’m very excited!  It’s got many different concepts for bodies, sleeves, necklines, and extras (like pockets).  You flip to a sweater body you like, flip to a sleeve type you like, and then go from there.  It’s not my perfect sweater that I’ve been searching for, but it’s a good start.  I’m hoping this will help me on my way to discovering how to knit items that actually fit me.  I think I have a very disproportionate view of my body in the way that I knit things.  I tend to knit things big because I’m afraid they’ll be too tight.  I tend to knit my sleeves too long because I’m afraid they’ll be too short.  It turns them into sweaters sized more for my recliner than for me.

Now I just have decide which yarn I want to use.  That’s an entirely different headache.  Sigh…

(Also.. while I was in the knitting section of B&N, I introduced a fellow knitter to Ravelry and gave her details of the local knit night.  I love enabling helping others!)

Leave a Reply

