Vacationing

This weekend is my cousin’s wedding and the family reunion.  Sam and I decided to make a real trip out of it by taking Friday and Monday off.  We drove up yesterday (Friday) by way of a quick stop at BSG.  I procured some fabulous STR mill ends from BMFA (always my first stop), the Rock & Weave pattern by Karen Alfke (Ravelry link), a bat of brown soft stuff (I don’t remember the fiber off-hand, but it’s in a tube and squoooooshy), a paint box kit of fiber, and an Ashford student spindle (only $6.75!!!!).  Sam was a trooper and even carried my bags and petted everything I said to.  We didn’t have much time to play, so we did the whirlwind tour.  But I did make out with some nice loot!

An hour or so later, we arrived at our hotel in Salem.  We’re staying at the HoJo (Howard Johnson).  It’s not a bad place.  It’s a little older, but nicely remodeled.  The rooms are small, but comfortable (but not sound proof…).  Just a warning, no elevator, so prepare to take the stairs.

Last night we went to Thai Orchid and had what amounted to the best Pad Thai and the best Curry we’ve ever had.  Sam asked how we’re going to go back to Thai food at home.  Honestly, I’m not sure…

This morning we’re going to Busick Court for breakfast before running around Salem.  We’re going to visit the Salem Center (sky walks!) for shoes and a haircut.  Well, shoes for me, haircut for Sam.  We don’t have to be to the wedding reception until 6pm, so we get to play for a while.  Tomorrow we’ll be checking out of the HoJo and going to the Holiday Inn in Portland.  We’re going to spend a night there and visit friends (and yarn shops!), with stops at Frys and Ikea.

All in all, it’s going to be a fun trip.  We don’t have to be back until Monday evening, so we’re making a vacation out of it.  It’s one of our first real vacations since we’ve been married.  Normally we have other people staying with us.  But most of this weekend belongs entirely to us!

3 thoughts on “Vacationing

  1. Hey, sounds like you’re having a fun vacation. I can completely understand about the Thai food, we had the same experience when we went up to Seattle for Christmas. We had The Best Pad Thai. When we got back, I couldn’t find a place here that even compared. So I found a really tasty “quick” recipe that actually tastes better than most restaurants we’ve eaten at. I’ll send it to you as soon as I get back to my laptop.

    Dana 🙂

  2. And now, I have to leave a comment to say, so glad you could come to my reception, and I hope you had a good time at both, reception and reunion. can’t believe its been 11 years since we’ve all been together, and its too bad some were missing….
    It was nice to finally meet Sam, although i wasn’t able to sit and relax, but, glad you made a mini vacation out of the weekend!

Leave a Reply

