Food for Thought

I’m feeling very inspired today.  I’m nearing the end of the Moderne Log Cabin baby blanket for Molly’s shower on Sunday and just itching to start something new.  Yesterday I got the pattern and yarn for this month’s Sock of the Month club pattern from the Shoppe.  I’m haven’t decided yet if I’m going to do the split toe.  My yarn of choice for this project is Really Red from Pagewood Farms.

I also picked up a new book today called Uncommon Crochet.  (I wanted to get Crochet Bouquet too, but I couldn’t bring myself to spend that much all in one go.  It’s on the wishlist though…) It’s got some neat projects in it with a variety of materials.  I am especially drawn to the bags/baskets that combine crocheted pieces and fabric pieces.  I love how the two compliment each other.

I also seem to be completely pre-occupied from the discussion Kelly was having on the latest episode of the KnitPicks Podcast.  She was talking about Recipe Card Knitting.  Sort of like keeping a recipe book of your most used patterns (like your grandma’s box of favorite recipes on cards).  I have to agree with her that the log cabin and baby surprise jacket should both go in mine.  Beyond that I would definitely add the little crochet sweater from that one leaflet (yeah, I know that’s a really helpful description…  I believe it’s the Elfin Stripes baby cardigan.) as well as the top down baby sweater pattern from Knitting Pure & Simple.  Socks would definitely be in mine (including the 12 hour sock pattern I learned to knit socks on).  I’m not sure what else I would put in it off the top of my head, but it’s really got me thinking.  I’d love to have those best loved/most used patterns all in one central location.  I may just make myself a “Recipe Box” of knitting and crochet patterns.  Who knows, maybe I could use up some of those scrapbooking supplies to do it…

A last thought… if musicians suffer from G.A.S (Gear Acquisition Syndrome) and yarny people have lots of S.E.X. (Stash Enhancement Experiences), which would you rather be?

One thought on “Food for Thought

Leave a Reply

