Socks & SciFi

I’ve been seduced by the dark side.  Yes, that’s right, I’m talking about sock yarn.  Until recently, it was just an every once in a while thing.  A skein a couple times a year at most.  Well, that’s all changed.  In the last two months, I have acquired (both gifts and buying) more than 5 skeins of sock yarn.  And I’m not talking about just plain sock yarn, I’m talking about the good stuff.  Two skeins of Socks That Rock medium weight mill ends (assorted colors), a skein of Cherry Tree Hill Supersock Solids in a color called Blossom, a skein of Tofutsies in color 801, and a skein of Wisdom Yarns Marathon Sock in color 206.

This abundance of delicious fibery goodness as led to a slight mental illness regarding socks.  I have exactly one pair (note the word “pair”) of hand knit socks (other than the pair that have been on display at the shop for the last 4 years).  Those are the blue/yellow/red socks made from Sockotta using the Yarn Harlot‘s basic sock recipe.  I have been wearing those socks on Fridays with my black & white polka dot shoes.  Not that there is anything wrong with wearing striped socks with polka dot shoes, but I think I need more than one pair of hand knit socks.

After much deliberation, I started a heavily modified version of the 2-button sock from Love to Knit.  The original version calls for it to be knit flat and then sewn together.  We all know enough about my sewing capabilities  to know that is not a viable option.  Add to that the fact that I’m using a lighter weight yarn and I have large ankles and well… let’s just say this is my own version.  I cast on 67 instead of the 59 in the pattern.  I knit flat for the button band and then joined it into the round and continued the lace pattern.  I am to the point where I think the ankle is long enough.

I have also had a brief visit back to my first love: Crochet.  I purchased some Baby Bamboo (colors: #132 putty and #135 sleepy blue) from the shop on Thursday and whipped up three face cloths for my grandmother for her upcoming birthday party.  They are all complete except tucking the threads on the last one.  I’m going to put them in a basket with a handmade soap purchased from a local artisan.  That combined with the towel warmer from my parents and the fluffy towel from my sister should make a nice “pamper me” gift for grandma.  The best thing?  Baby Bamboo is machine washable!

Pictures will follow as soon as I can find what the hell I did with my camera.  At least I found the cable.  Want to know where it is now?  With the camera…

I also hit up the Grange Co-Op today for some plants.  I got a mixture of lettuces and a pony pack of cabbage plants as well as several bags of seeds.  I got most of the lettuce and cabbage planted in some long window boxes until I can get my raised bed cleaned out.   I also need to prune my roses, but I’m not looking forward to that.  I’m hoping to get the seeds started this weekend, but with the birthday party tomorrow, who knows how much time I’ll get.

Speaking of wasted time, I watched three SciFi original movies this evening.  They’re like a train wreck… you want to look away, but you just can’t.  I have this weird obsession with really bad SciFi movies.  And these ones were doosies.  The upside: I got most of the sock cuff done with laughing at the terrible animation of the Grendel, the Gryphon, and the Ogre.

2 thoughts on “Socks & SciFi

  1. They make special yarn for that!?!? Of course what do I know? I’m a grease monkey! Learn something new every day. . .

Leave a Reply

