Hot Cross Buns

I’m pretty sure my husband is already getting tired of hearing my poor rendition of Hot Cross Buns on the violin.  That’s right, on the violin.

I had my first lesson Tuesday and it was pretty fun!  The instructor doesn’t waste any time, he just threw me into it and assumed I had an idea of what was going on.  There is one other student in my class, a little girl (maybe 7 or 8 years old).  She is pretty tiny and plays a violin that looks like a toy (I think it’s a 1/8 size).  She said she’s been playing for a few days, so, we’re about evenly matched as far as skills go and that’s just fine with me.

I’m actually thrilled to be in a class with a child because I don’t feel bad when I screw up.  Is it terrible that I’m excited that there are no other adults in the class other than the instructor?  Nah…

I am determined to learn to play this violin.  When I was little, I secretly fantasized about playing the violin, but it wasn’t an option, so I learned to play the piano with my sister.  After five years of lessons, I could play decently, read music quite well, but didn’t enjoy any of it.  Even as terrible as it sounds, as much as it makes my fingers hurt, and despite the crying of the dog, I am thoroughly enjoying this so far.  Even if all I can play is Hot Cross Buns…

One thought on “Hot Cross Buns

  1. howl! Howwwwwllllll!!!! Haha, Just joking. So when you learn to play that thing maybe we could jam. Sound like fun? Good luck, I hear it’s a hard instrument to play. I used to want to play it too. Tried one time. . . the whole neighborhood of dogs were howling. 🙂 ~Jason

Leave a Reply

