A Great Start

2008 is going to be a good year.  At least, it is so far.  Despite a nasty head cold, I have been surprisingly productive.  I have finished my first successful sweater!  It is the Tweed Tunic from Creative Knitting Winter 2007 in Schachenmayr  Nomotta  Ego Tweed.

Here is a picture of my lovely sister modeling it.  It’s very comfy and warm!

2173242815_d8ba696d7f.jpg

Other things accomplished today…

I sewed the suede pads onto the bottom of Tyler’s clogs and sent them home.  He was having a good time putting them on his hands and then flinging them at me.

I started swatching for the Secret of the Stole II.  I’m using KnitPicks Alpaca Cloud in discontinued color Sand on size 2.5mm needles.  So far, I’m liking the look of it, but I won’t know for sure until I finish the swatch and block it.

Yesterday, I did a bit of spinning.  I’m definitely rusty, especially considering I wasn’t very good to begin with…

I have a few goals for 2008, all them of them reasonable and low pressure.

1.  Finish what I start.  I have a really bad habit of finishing things and then getting distracted.  This year, I am going to try and push through that and finish the projects I begin.  I gave myself a good start with the sweater.

2.   Be a Fearless Knitter.  Knitting Daily has issued the challenge to be a fearless knitter.  My first fearless feat?  I sewed up the seams on my sweater today and they don’t look terrible!  The Secret of the Stole II is my main fearless act of 2008.  After the lace tragedy with the Pi Shawl, I have been afraid to start anything lacey or delicate.  I am going to do this stole!

3.  Play with the toys I have.  I spent the money on a spinning wheel, yet I rarely touch it.  I love to spin, but I’m not very good at it.  Why?  Because I don’t do it very often.  I’m going to try to spin at least once a week.  If I’m ever going to improve, I’m going to have to practice.

Other toys I need to practice to improve upon?  Harold the violin.  He’s going to start coming out once a week.  I’d like to take the violin out and not have the dog start crying before I even put bow to strings…

Those are my top three goals for 2008.  If I attempt to stick to these goals, they’ll automatically help me hit lesser goals of eating better (can’t snack when you’re spinning), spending less (lace takes a long time to knit and I already have the yarn in stash), and feeling less stressed (all stress relieving activities).  All in all, I think it’s going to be a good year.

One thought on “A Great Start

Leave a Reply

