Floral Delights

I got a new book that I’m very excited about.  I got Nicky Epstein’s Crocheted Flowers.  I am in love with this book.  I have already made 3 bell flowers and a sunflower.  Paula has requested black, orange, and red bell flowers for centerpieces on the tables at her wedding.  It’s next October, so I think I can do that.  I can’t say enough good things about this book.  The patterns are great!  This is definitely one of my new favorites.

Another new toy that I have acquired is the interchangeable crochet hook set from ProvoCraft.  The ergonomic handle took a little getting used to, but my hands seem to last a lot longer.  I’m even getting back up to speed using the slightly different hand placement it requires.

Besides Crocheted Flowers, I also got the new perpetual crochet calendar 365 Crochet Stitches a  Year.  I haven’t had a chance to look through it thoroughly, but from the quick flip it got, I think it will certainly live up to its knit counterpart.

In the magazine department, have you seen the latest issue of Creative Knitting?  They’ve come out with another good one this month.  I have made myself the Cables & Bobbles Beret on page 32.  I omitted the bobbles and it’s not terribly beret-like.  In other words, I love it.  It fits beautifully and I worked it up in a color that will go with just about everything.  Hopefully I will be able to talk Sam into uploading more pictures to Arnold so I can post more here.  My iBook is still out of commission and I haven’t heard any (good) words about its fate.  Sigh.

Not to freak anybody out, but there’s only 22 more knitting days until Christmas.  How are you doing on your projects?  Mine are coming along decently.  I have stalled on the shawl for Sam’s Gramma, but the new chunky yarn should make it a quick finish (as soon as I find what I did with the pattern, that is).  My sister has requested house socks after seeing me in mine, so she will be getting a few pairs.  Again, chunky yarns that work up fast, even with her ginormous feet…  I may whip up a sweater for Shea, or she may just get a hat.  I’m not terribly committed to making presents this year as I have done pretty well on shopping already.  Sam is taken care of, Mom and Dad are both getting join presents from the kids, and my sister is getting socks.  Tyler has clogs that are already finished and I have ordered him a piano.  My brother-in-law might get fingerless mitts if he’s nice to me.  😛  So, have I taken on too much?  We’ll soon see.

One thought on “Floral Delights

Leave a Reply

