Double Turkey with a Side of Shopping

I hope everyone had a good Thanksgiving this year.  For those of you that don’t celebrate Thanksgiving, I hope you had a good Thursday.

This year, Thanksgiving dinner was held at my house (at least one was).  My family has started a new tradition of not going to Grandma’s for Thanksgiving.  In the past (when Grandpa was alive) it was customary to gather at Grandma’s house and have turkey dinner around 1pm.  Then we would sit around at argue talk.  This usually consisted of my grandfather and my uncle telling my Dad that he was wrong.  Once Grandpa passed away we continued tradition for a couple of years and then we decided to shake things up.  Thanksgiving was first held at my house last year.

We have discovered a couple of things about having Thanksgiving somewhere other than Grandma’s house (in other words, if we have it at my house).
1.  My uncle doesn’t come.  (YAY!!! Do the happy dance!!!)
2.  Grandma doesn’t tend to come either.
3.  We can have other foods besides traditional Thanksgiving fair.  The additional foods usually consist of fries, mozzarella sticks, and mac ‘n cheese (all compliments of my brother-in-law’s picky eating habits).
4.  At my house, the dog can hang out and clean up any accidental spills.
5.  Paula & Matt can come and no one is uncomfortable.

So, in other words.  We had a really pleasant dinner/lunch.  I made a 24lb turkey for the first dinner (held at about 2pm).  I used the brine method from an episode of Good Eats.  The meat practically fell off the bones.  Matt made pumpkin pie from scratch (you rock!) as well as apple and cherry pie from the can.  My sister did a pecan pie from scratch and Mom did all the fixin’s.  Let’s just say there were an abundance of leftovers.

As soon as that first turkey came out of the oven, the second one (19lbs) went in.  We pulled it out about 5:45pm, loaded into the car and drove to Sam’s Gramma’s house.  We were a little late (dinner was scheduled for 6pm) and a note was left on the door that said, “You’re late.  Was :), now :(“.  The 😦 was soon turned to 🙂 as dinner was served.  True to her word, Sam’s sister had 5 kinds of pie.  And true to his word, Sam sampled one of each.  I discovered a new favorite pie, peach!  I ended up bringing the pie home with me and let me tell you, it’s delicious.

Besides pie, I discovered a new video game that I am good at (besides Tetris).  I kicked Sam’s tushie on Guitar Hero!  I wouldn’t have thought I could do it, but within an hour or so, I was playing on the medium level and winning.  I’m looking into a 3/4 size acoustic (real) guitar for me.  I think I want to learn to play for real now.

Black Friday saw us out shopping.  I met up with my sister and her husband as some friends at Apple Peddlar for breakfast around 5am.  We hit several stores and finished shopping about 2pm.  Among other things that I scored, was a 7qt slow cooker for $15.  It has already been broken in with 2 skeins of wool (pictures to follow soon).  I won’t go into the details of shopping, but I was not trampled, beat up, or mugged, so I would consider it a successful Black Friday adventure.  (On a side note.. I fell asleep at 5pm Friday and didn’t wake up until 8am the next morning.  Guess I was a little tired, huh?)

On the knitting note, I have started a scarf using my hand dyed soy/wool blend.  I will post pictures and the pattern when it is complete.  It’s super simple, but looks difficult.  Don’t you love those kind of patterns?

P.S.  It was really hard to go back to work after a 4 day weekend.  I really wanted to stay home in my stretch pants and sleep in my recliner.  Oh well…

One thought on “Double Turkey with a Side of Shopping

  1. Sounds like you had a good Thanksgiving. You’re brave to go out on Black Friday though. . . . but then again I’m a wuss. 😛

Leave a Reply

