Another Near Dye Experience

I’ve been busy with my slow cooker these last few days.  I only have one to show today, but I promise more pictures of pretties in the near future.  This latest experiment involved blue and purple.  I think I’m in love…

In the dye pot.

2046469036_4c26c0e211.jpg

Hanging to dry.

2046473154_ab04780b79.jpg

The base yarn for this was Patons Classic Merino in “Winter White.”  I used two shades of Wilton’s food dye, but I can’t recall which ones (violet and sky blue, I think).  I have two skeins of an Alpaca blend hanging in the bathroom drying at the moment and two soy/wool blends that are ready to be re-skeined and photographed.  I promise a re-skeined photo of the blue and purple lusciousness above .  It is currently on the swift being untangled.  I left it alone for 5 minutes (literally) and the cat (&!^$#*&@ CAT!) decided to taste it.

I also completed a wrap for Paula in time for the Marine Corps Birthday Ball on Veteran’s Day (I know, a little late…).  It turned out pretty good for being worked up in a couple of hours in the wee hours of the morning.  Doesn’t she look fabulous?

paula_shawl.jpg

They had a great time.  So great, in fact, that Matt split his pants!  I have decided to let him have what little dignity he has left and not post the picture of him in his boxers and garters.  (Matt, I take payment in the form of cash and house cleaning…).

On an adorable note, my nephew visited recently.  We had a great time and the day ended like this.

2045672927_6624e51458.jpg

One thought on “Another Near Dye Experience

Leave a Reply

