In Limbo

I feel like I’ve been in limbo for the last 2 weeks.  The power management board went out on my Apple iBook G4 and needs to be replaced.  In layman’s terms… It no work!  The power management board tells the laptop when it has battery or A/C power.  Because it is not working, the laptop thinks it has battery when it doesn’t and won’t charge.  It also won’t run off of the A/C adapter.  At least, that’s how I understand it all.  My dear husband has ordered a replacement, but it has not yet arrived.

In the meantime, I am using Sam’s old Titanium Powerbook.  I believe he bought this thing sometime around 2000 (we were still dating and he was still living in the apartments).  Because of the titanium coating, it is a bit heavy, gets very warm, and doesn’t pick up the wireless signal that great.  It also has decided that it won’t talk to my camera.  So, while I have lots of pictures to post, I can’t get them onto the laptop to post them!

The Pi Shawl’s fate has been decided.  It will be torn out completely and put aside.  To replace it (because there is just over a month until Christmas), I am making a bulky weight version of the Aran Weight Victorian Lace Shawl from Elann.com.  I am using Schachenmayr Ego Tweed (sorry, the site is in German) in color #84.  It’s a purple varigated with a subtle striping effect.  I am using a size 11 (US) needle and not changing needle sizes as called for in the original pattern.  I am on the second repeat of chart #1, and so far, I’m liking it.  It works up quickly, is warm, and not terribly complicated.  I did get my copy of the pattern from a woman at my LYS.  She said she participated in a KAL for this and the pattern on the site is full of errors.  Her copy had lots of corrections, stitch counts, etc. which I’m hoping will prove useful.

Other than a flood of felted bags that I’ve been working on for the craft bazaar that is coming up here at work (pictures to follow someday, I promise!!), I have just been working on odds and ends.  I’ve got to get busy on my holiday gifts and get them posted to the Holiday KAL-CAL.  If you haven’t joined up yet, now is the time!

One nerdy thing… If you haven’t discovered Google Reader yet, you are missing out.  I use it to subscribe to all of the blogs that I read, the podcasts I listen to, even Woot.  It is a *huge* time saver and makes my life much easier.

And finally… I blame Carin.  I’m going to have to order these.   Lime & Violet (and Carin) you’re such enablers!!!!

Leave a Reply

