Vocalize

I have taken a step.  Not a huge one, but a medium sized one.  I have purchased [dramatic pause] a real microphone for my laptop.

I know, it’s hard to believe.  But, yesterday, I purchased the Blue Snowball USB Microphone.  The sound quality is very nice and it’s quite user friendly.  With this mic, you can just plug and play.  It is a dual capsule microphone with three different settings.  These different settings allow me to record just what’s in front of the mic, or what’s all around the mic.  Plus, it looks cool! 🙂

I am using Audacity to record on my laptop.  It’s easy to use and has tutorials and help if you get stuck.  So far, I have recorded a short story for a friend’s little girl, and a couple of answers to go on the Quirky Nomads podcast.  That is, if I can get up the courage to send them.  I’m still baffled at how different I sound when I play the recordings back to me.

I also hope to someday get the courage to volunteer for the Librivox project.  Librivox is working to get public domain books recorded into audio books.  I think it’s a great project and with voices like Brenda Dayne of Cast-On reading, how can you not want to listen??

While we’re on the subject of microphones… Dad brought me a vintage microphone that was great-grandpa’s.  It is a VoluTone microphone, probably from the late 1960’s.  I have not had any luck finding out more details, so far.   The microphone guys I know were a bit baffled.  They’d never seen one before.  Google searches have not turned up anything either.  I have a couple more resources to try.  But, in the meantime, if you know anything about VoluTone microphones, please drop me a line!

(P.S. The microphone is at work, but I will post pictures of both the old and the new when I get a chance.)

4 thoughts on “Vocalize

  1. Just saying hello and a (late) thanks for your comment on my blog. 🙂 I’m not annoyed enough about the imperfect Claudia skein to complain about it, but it’s good to know that if it happened again, she’d be probably be willing to do something about it. The socks don’t seem to have suffered, anyway!

    Have fun playing with your microphone… I’m scared of those things since having heard my voice on tape a lonnng time ago – I won’t even leave the message on our answering machine at home! LOL

  2. VoluTone no longer makes that kind of equipment, they are now a home theater/car audio distributor. Call 805-520-8500 and ask for Gary. He is one of the owners and still collects vintage VoluTone mics and amps.

Leave a Reply

