Squee!

First – the most important event of my day.

I was mentioned on Lime & Violet!!! SQUEEEEE! They are incredibly awesome. If you haven’t heard their podcast, GO LISTEN NOW!

Next – Stash & Burn.

Nicole & Jenny from Stash & Burn turned me on to a new site: Ravelry – a knit and crochet community. They’re not currently taking more beta testers, but you can get signed up to be on the list. This site looks like an awesome new idea for the yarny community. It has stash organization, UFO/FO tracking, and more. Be sure to check it out!

Third – Log Cabin Madness.

I’ve been working on a cotton log cabin blanket based loosely on one of the diagrams from Mason-Dixon Knitting. It’s made from Lily Sugar ‘N Cream cotton. I chose 4 coordinating colors from my stash in purple, pink, variegated, and ombre. Then, on the urging of a co-worker, added a ball of orange to match the variegated. I think the colors are matching up nicely. I have one more side panel (on the right) to go and then the two large bottom panels.

Log Cabin in Progress

It’s not finished, and it badly needs to be blocked, but so far, it’s not too bad. I’m pretty sure I will wash/dry it and shrink it and then add a cotton or flannel fabric backing for stability. I’m not sure what I’ll do with it yet, probably send it to a charity. If this one works well, I have already picked out the yarns for a blue/green/yellow variation.

Not bad for less than a week, eh? Thank you to Stash & Burn for inspiring me to knit from my stash!

2 thoughts on “Squee!

  1. What a pretty blanket! I’m thinking of making one myself one of these days.

    I just got on Ravelry myself and love it. Still figuring it out as a I go, but, definitely love it there.

    Found you via the I Stalk L&V web ring. Don’t worry, I’m a completely harmless stalker 😉

Leave a Reply

