Playing Catch-Up

It’s been almost a week since I last posted, so here’s a rundown of what’s been going on.

Most of last week was spent cleaning the house.   The kitchen, the dining room, and the living room were all given a fairly deep cleaning.  This included organizing/hiding the stash and other craft items.  I sorted my knitting needles as part of this cleaning and have a box of them to be sent to charity.

On Saturday, I hosted a Pampered Chef show.  We did the chocolate party and the rep made “Double Chocolate Trifle”.  Talk about *delicious*!  The party was lots of fun and my house is still reasonably clean.

Skip to today.  Today, I baked cookies.  Two double batches, one of Peanut Butter and one of No-Bake Chocolatey/Peanut Butter.  Four dozen of those cookies are going to the MF Distribution Center.  They’re moving to a new facility and one of the ladies at work arranged a massive cookie baking to send them home-made goodies to help them cope with the stress of the move.  Of course I made a little extra for my boys.

On a yarn note: I’ve been listening to a new podcast Stash & Burn.  Well, new to me anyway.   Nicole & Jenny of Stash & Burn are working their way through their stashes.  In the process they are giving tips for stash organization, moral support for those on yarn diets, and even sympathy when they fall off the wagon.  Since listening to them, I’m feeling inspired to inventory my stash and start working through it.  With the recent tightness of wallet that we’re experiencing, it seems like the right time.

Other than that, I’m working on a log cabin something or other out of cotton.  I’m not exactly sure what it’s going to be yet, but I’m thinking it will end up being a baby blanket backed with flannel.  It’s inspired by the log cabin blankets in Mason-Dixon Knitting.  This  book is both funny and well written with interesting patterns.  I love the log cabin explanation and patterns in this book.  They make great beginner projects and nice mindless patterns for more advanced knitters.  The current blanket is purple and pinks and variegated versions of the aforementioned colors.  If this one turns out well, I may do one in blues and greens.  I’ll post pictures when I get a chance.  Until then, it’s back to knitting for me.

Leave a Reply

