Opening Day

Looks like I’m finally getting with the picture and starting a blog. I’m going to try to keep it updated, but no promises with my busy schedule. A little about myself.. I am happily married to a wonderful man. We live with a dog, Chloe, and two cats, Max and Inara. The fluffy teenage nephew rooms at one end of the house. (This situation is semi-permanent, we think). The house is filled with signs of yarn addiction. There are boxes, bags, and piles of yarn scattered about as well as an entire bookshelf dedicated to the needley arts.

I am currently working on starting a square foot garden in my back yard. Today, Sam and I put together my first square foot raised bed (it’s actually 4ft square, but details..). Anyway, I got the book at Costco last week and it seems like a really neat way to garden. More about that here if you’re interested. I also went to the Master Gardeners Show today with my sister. I bought lots of tomato plants, a few hot pepper plants, onions, and several different varieties of flowers. My crowning purchase is something commonly referred to as a “Parlor Maple”. It’s a small maple with variegated leaves and orange-ish flowers. They’re a zone 10, so it’s going to be a houseplant here in zone 7.

Tomorrow will be a day of mixing the square foot garden special mix and then planting my new purchases. Hopefully pictures will follow. I may have to go buy the stuff for a second raised bed with all the plants I bought. I got a little wild. But, I guess that’s what happens when you go to the garden show without your husband…

One thought on “Opening Day

  1. It’s also 4ft^3, which is good, because with 4 cubic feet of dirt in the box it’s not going anywhere any time soon.

    It still smells kind of funny, I’m hoping the poop smell goes away after a few water/dry cycles.

Leave a Reply

