FO: Tama for Rex

I’m pleased to share Rex’s new sweater!

wpid-IMG_20140312_170659.jpg

Pattern is Tama by Kelly Brooker.  I was gifted this lovely pattern and the one for Beyond Puerperium** by my lovely (blogless) friend Jen for my birthday.

wpid-IMG_20140312_171817.jpg

This little sweater was a treat to knit.  I worked it up in (new to me) Berroco Vintage Chunky, color #61191.  It took less than 3 skeins, despite the yardage requirements indicated on the pattern.  I have quite a bit leftover from the last skein, enough to make a hat for sure.  I made a slight modification by adding in the missing buttonholes.  The original has one functional buttonhole and the other two buttons are sewn through both layers.  Knowing my boy does not like things tight over his had, I decided to add in the other two buttonholes.  You can read all of my notes and modifications on the Ravelry project detail page.

2014-03-10 21.24.15

Buttons are from Babyville Boutique (#35056) and were also purchased at Twisted when I bought the yarn.  (I had a plan and stuck with it!)  I used this youtube video on sewing buttons onto handknits to attach my buttons. I found it very thorough and easy to follow.  I used small, clear-ish backing buttons out of my stash.

2014-03-10 21.23.52

I tried the sweater on Rex as it progressed (Picture me, chasing a 21 month old around the house in a one-sleeved sweater, still attached to a ball of yarn…), so it fits like a dream!  I’m hoping he’ll get some good wear out of this before spring is over.  And yes, I’m already plotting my next Tama.  I wish it was available for my size!

wpid-IMG_20140312_170719.jpg

*She also designed the pattern for the Puerperium Cardigan that I knit Rex when he was first born.

**If you love both sweaters, you can get them in an e-book for a great price!

One thought on “FO: Tama for Rex

Leave a Reply

